[Closed] Minecraft Ace Attorney: The Official Soundtrack

Showcase your artistic creations, whether that be sprites, music, drawings or literature, and whether they be related to the Ace Attorney universe or not.

Moderators: EN - Assistant Moderators, EN - Forum Moderators

UltrawaveStudios
Spoken languages: English

[Closed] Minecraft Ace Attorney: The Official Soundtrack

Post by UltrawaveStudios »

Minecraft Ace Attorney for Ace Attorney Online has been cancelled. However, I am working on the game for PyWright.
Go check it out on the Court Records forums when the thread is posted!
-UltrawaveStudios
Last edited by UltrawaveStudios on Sat Jul 19, 2014 9:35 pm, edited 14 times in total.
DeeYo
Spoken languages: Hungarian, English, some Russian, Spanish, German

Re: Minecraft Ace Attorney: The Official Soundtrack

Post by DeeYo »

Sigh... As an amateur composer myself, will you allow me to give some (hopefully constructive) criticism?
(Note: at the time of writing, only the two CE themes are up.)
Spoiler : Do not read if you aren't ready for criticism :
Honestly, I'd go crazy if that was what I had to listen to during a cross-examination.
First off: CEs usually have a distinct melody. That means you don't add notes to every single 8th or so. That makes the whole song 1) pretty expectable and 2) pretty boring. The bass putting in notes at completely regular intervals don't help either.
Solution: Try playing with rhythms.
(1.5: The main goal of a CE theme is to increase tension. You can achieve this by omission [see the rhythm of AA1] or by volume changes. Or some other methods, possibly.)
Hint: Try listening to original CE soundtracks, or even fan-made ones. Emulate the rhythm of the melody.
Second: The instruments. Piano, bass and drums. ...Which don't really add to the originality. Nor do they give that AA feel, but I can excuse that since you may not go for the AA feel.
Solution: Add more and different instruments.