An Introduction to SVG Magic (IN PROGRESS)

Find detailed help from the AAO community, or write your own tutorials.

Moderator: EN - Forum Moderators

Ferdielance
Spoken languages: English

An Introduction to SVG Magic (IN PROGRESS)

Post by Ferdielance »

Warning:

The techniques in this guide are not officially supported by any version of AAO! They work reasonably well in Firefox and to some extent in Chrome, but future versions of those browsers may behave unpredictably!

SVG Magic: Doing the Implausible in AAO

We mustn't confuse what's impossible with what's implausible. Just about everything I dream up for a living relies on stuff that's highly implausible. That's what makes it so hard to work out; no-one thinks you'd go to that much trouble to fool your audience.

- Jonathan Creek
Intro:

In version 5 of the AAO editor and player, it was nearly impossible to do a number of interesting, useful things, such as display multiple objects on one background. To pull off certain engines required the use of a special technique - .svg images. Now that AAO v6 allows many of these tricks, .svgs are less useful. But they're still handy in a number of ways! Here are things you can do with .svgs (to some extent) that you can't do easily without them:
  • Smooth scrolling credits and other animations, such as image rotations, in small files
  • Dynamic text in examine engines, such as HP counters in an RPG engine
  • The ability to zoom in and pick out parts of large images with a button press (very choppy, though!)
  • Cleaner fades
However, they also have several disadvantages:
  • Uneven browser support
  • Not officially supported by Unas; AAO v7 could conceivably break these someday
  • Require an outside server that can serve HTML and ideally .php code, not just images (Photobucket won't cut it)
  • Have a limited toolset for design. While some tools, such as Inkscape, can export .svgs, many do so in a bloated way!