Implementing Perceive

Find detailed help from the AAO community, or write your own tutorials.

Moderator: EN - Forum Moderators

Thursday
Spoken languages: English, Tagalog, Some French

Implementing Perceive

Post by Thursday »

How to Implement Perceive
Seeing as how Unas says there aren't any immediate plans to add a Perceive system, and I'll be needing Perceive sooner or later (as does anyone else making AJ trials), I've decided to come up with my own way to do it.
Beware, as this guide requires you to have a good knowledge of the editor, so if you're a total newb here, I don't suggest reading this until you make a quick trial or two.

1. Resources
You'll need a few external items to recreate the look and feel of Perceive segments.
Spoiler : Spoiler'd to save space :
Perceive Background
Of course, a boring black background isn't the same as the iconic Amazing Technicolour Battlefield, is it? It seems sites like court records are missing this, so I went and ripped it myself.
Note that I went through a lot of trouble ripping this from the game, and the looping isn't perfect.
I'll update this with a better version whenever I can.

Perceive Character Zoom
No examples to stay spoiler-free
Perhaps the most vital graphic in Perceiving, this is where players will be looking for that nervous tic.

• If you're using a character from AJ that's been Perceived, then lucky you, you can just go over to court records, save their Perceive graphics, and upload them to your image hosting site of choice.
The problem with this is that people who've played through AJ will already know where to look, so if you can, try one of the other options below.

• If you have some experience with imaging programs, you can open up the desired character's pose, enlarge it, apply grayscale, and edit it a bit to show the nervous tic. Save a still png without the habit showing, and a gif with the habit.