[Bug][E][✗] Sudden stop during playtest

All discussions regarding the AAOv6 Beta, be it bug reports or suggestions, should be posted in this section.

Modérateur: EN - Forum Moderators

[Bug][E][✗] Sudden stop during playtest 

Message par Ryuu » Sam Fév 16, 2013 11:34 pm

So just now when I was trying to fiddle around the editor, just to discover what's where first-hand, and then, upon playtesting the first few frames (I'm a little paranoid), the, like, 3rd frame seems to break it all... Upon touching the giant orange "next" button, the next frame (which included text) had an empty textbox. More, I couldn't not continue any further.
I ask you: Why would that happen?


Operating System: Windows XP
Web Browser: Mozilla Firefox 18.02 (At least that's what the download said)
Link to trial: http://aceattorney.sparklin.org/V6_Test/player.html?trial_id=46023
Description: Look above
How to reproduce: Just try playing the trial and you're bound to have this problem.
Ryuu
 
Message(s) : 10
Inscription : Sam Fév 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: English; Polish

Re: [E][Bug]Sudden stop during playtest 

Message par Sligneris » Dim Fév 17, 2013 12:37 am

I don't seem to be able to even load this.
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Sligneris
 
Message(s) : 1743
Inscription : Sam Oct 01, 2011 8:22 pm
Langues parlées: English, Polish

Re: [E][Bug]Sudden stop during playtest 

Message par Unas » Dim Fév 17, 2013 12:42 am

Thread moved to V6 beta section, since it's a trial created on V6 beta.

---

Well, I don't see any problem as far as I'm concerned.
I play the 4 frames just fine then reach "The End".

So if the problem still happens to you, I'd guess it's something with your browser - extensions interfering with the website in some way, etc.
ImageImageImage
If knowledge can create problems, it is not through ignorance that we can solve them.
Si le savoir peut créer des problèmes, ce n'est pas l'ignorance qui les résoudra. ( Isaac Asimov )
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Unas
Admin / Site programmer
 
Message(s) : 8787
Inscription : Mar Juil 10, 2007 4:43 pm
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: Français, English, Español

Re: [Bug][E] Sudden stop during playtest 

Message par GanonZD » Dim Fév 17, 2013 3:34 pm

The trial doesn't load in my browser either. And I'm used to this procedure now, so yes, I did clear my cache, and yes, I have disabled all weird add-ons. ;-)
Ganon er kommt zum Dorf.
Avatar de l’utilisateur
GanonZD
 
Message(s) : 523
Inscription : Dim Août 09, 2009 5:59 pm
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: English, Danish, German, a tiny bit French

Re: [Bug][E] Sudden stop during playtest 

Message par energizerspark » Dim Fév 17, 2013 5:44 pm

It didn't work for me either.
Any advice or criticism I may give should be considered with the understanding that I lack skill and experience in pretty much everything.

Currently watching:
The Haunting of Hill House (on hold)
JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: Golden Wind

Currently playing:
Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

Currently reading:
Homestuck (Act 5 Act 2) - Andrew Hussie (on hold)
The Lord of the Rings (The Two Towers) - J.R.R. Tolkien

Image

the avatar is from Urusei Yatsura in case you were wondering
Avatar de l’utilisateur
energizerspark
 
Message(s) : 4116
Inscription : Jeu Jan 21, 2010 5:41 pm
Localisation : the Whole Sort of General Mish Mash
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: English

Re: [Bug][E] Sudden stop during playtest 

Message par Unas » Dim Fév 17, 2013 5:57 pm

...

How many times will I have to repeat it ?
Trials created on V6 Beta are not public, since there is no manager to make them public yet.
It's normal that you all can't access it. It's unrelated to the problem.
ImageImageImage
If knowledge can create problems, it is not through ignorance that we can solve them.
Si le savoir peut créer des problèmes, ce n'est pas l'ignorance qui les résoudra. ( Isaac Asimov )
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Unas
Admin / Site programmer
 
Message(s) : 8787
Inscription : Mar Juil 10, 2007 4:43 pm
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: Français, English, Español

Re: [Bug][E] Sudden stop during playtest 

Message par Phantom » Dim Fév 17, 2013 11:53 pm

Unas a écrit :...

How many times will I have to repeat it ?
Trials created on V6 Beta are not public, since there is no manager to make them public yet.
It's normal that you all can't access it. It's unrelated to the problem.



Can't you display some error message saying the trial cant load for someone because of this? ( I haven't checked out the beta so I wouldn't know, but based on the posts in this thread it seems like there aren't any).
Phantom
 

Re: [Bug][E] Sudden stop during playtest 

Message par Unas » Lun Fév 18, 2013 12:19 pm

Ah, yes, it used to show "You don't have permissions to load this trial", but apparently I messed that up in a recent update and now it just crashes a little earlier in the loading process.
Thanks for pointing it out, I'll fix it soon.
ImageImageImage
If knowledge can create problems, it is not through ignorance that we can solve them.
Si le savoir peut créer des problèmes, ce n'est pas l'ignorance qui les résoudra. ( Isaac Asimov )
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Unas
Admin / Site programmer
 
Message(s) : 8787
Inscription : Mar Juil 10, 2007 4:43 pm
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: Français, English, Español

Re: [Bug][E] Sudden stop during playtest 

Message par Ryuu » Lun Fév 18, 2013 3:48 pm

Well it stopped happening after I made some minorly minor changes to the script (EVERYTHING was minor anyway, so I guess those were actually major changes, but 4 frames are a 10 seconds work anyway.)
Ryuu
 
Message(s) : 10
Inscription : Sam Fév 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: English; Polish

Re: [Bug][E] Sudden stop during playtest 

Message par Unas » Lun Fév 18, 2013 7:04 pm

Erm... Well, it'd have helped if you'd kept the crashing version somewhere. Next time you report a bug, please keep it available for me to investigate ;-)

Because as of now, I know the player crashes, but I can't reproduce the bug, so... :-/
ImageImageImage
If knowledge can create problems, it is not through ignorance that we can solve them.
Si le savoir peut créer des problèmes, ce n'est pas l'ignorance qui les résoudra. ( Isaac Asimov )
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Unas
Admin / Site programmer
 
Message(s) : 8787
Inscription : Mar Juil 10, 2007 4:43 pm
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: Français, English, Español

Re: [Bug][E] Sudden stop during playtest 

Message par Ryuu » Mar Fév 19, 2013 5:41 pm

I'm sorry, then. I'll remember to keep a "crashable" version next time.
Ryuu
 
Message(s) : 10
Inscription : Sam Fév 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: English; Polish

Re: [Bug][E] Sudden stop during playtest 

Message par Unas » Mar Fév 19, 2013 8:43 pm

Thanks :-)
ImageImageImage
If knowledge can create problems, it is not through ignorance that we can solve them.
Si le savoir peut créer des problèmes, ce n'est pas l'ignorance qui les résoudra. ( Isaac Asimov )
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Unas
Admin / Site programmer
 
Message(s) : 8787
Inscription : Mar Juil 10, 2007 4:43 pm
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: Français, English, Español

Re: [Bug][E] Sudden stop during playtest 

Message par Enthalpy » Lun Août 17, 2015 5:56 pm

Since this is over two years old, has no reproduction information, and I'm assuming there are no similar reports...

Closed as could not reproduce. Let me know if something like this pops up again.
[D]isordered speech is not so much injury to the lips that give it forth, as to the disproportion and incoherence of things in themselves, so negligently expressed. ~ Ben Jonson

Current AAO Development Priority: Issue #94: Grayscale Mode
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Enthalpy
Community Manager
 
Message(s) : 4380
Inscription : Mer Jan 04, 2012 4:40 am
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: English, limited Spanish


Retour vers AAOv6 Beta

Qui est en ligne ?

Utilisateur(s) parcourant ce forum : Aucun utilisateur inscrit et 1 invité